Snowfall in Delhi

The window pane separates me
from the withered poplar
The sodden lawn has
day’s footprints engrossed
soiled shoes are half immersed in rain
December wind whooshes
flaps the window

.
I press my forehead
against the cold pane
as I breathe,
it blurs the lawn,
it sweats as I gasp

.
I am thousand miles away

.

Swirling, dancing
the snow hits the pane
that separates me
from the withered poplar
the soiled shoes are buried
deep beneath snow
day’s imprints
fade
bury
and disappear under snow

.
I am thousand miles away
pressing my forehead
against the pane
looking at the falling snow

(Qadri Inzamam, January 15, 2017)

Leave a Reply

